barefoot and crazy

life is full of changes. this is simply my attempt to go with the flow.

I needed this.

Being a mom is exhausting in the most amazing way you could imagine. What, being exhausted doesn’t sound amazing to you? I wouldn’t trade this kind of exhausted for all the sleep in the world but sometimes, you just need some out-of-the-house adult interaction.  Today was that day. On Friday, my college roommate came into town. Any time there’s company here, us ladies go a bit overboard on the yummy stuff. Last night was a trip to the steakhouse and froyo. Today was spent the way I think Sundays were meant to be spent: surrounded by amazing women at a coffee shop for brunch, an afternoon trip to Fresh Market and a delicious dinner. In pictures:

 

These were all taken at brunch. We met up with our sweet friend, Heather, and her Momma, Connie. I’ve been to Aroma’s many times but never for brunch. On Sundays, the Newport News location serves breakfast all day and I have to say, everything is delicious. I’ve never been disappointed with anything here. Today, I had the Southwest Chicken wrap and it was uh-mazingggg. I wish I had remembered to snap a picture but we were too busy with the conversation & I almost forgot I even had the camera! We all had such a great time, we’re going to make it a monthly tradition. Monthly Girl’s Brunch is a reason to smile in my book!

After brunch, Lana & I headed to Fresh Market for the ingredients for dinner tonight. I searched for a recipe this morning knowing that I’d want to make something quick, yummy and something that could be enjoyed easily from the couch while I watched the Oscar’s red carpet coverage 😉 This girl’s got her priorities straight! Pioneer Woman’s recipe for Pasta with Pancetta and Leeks won. This recipe was so easy, so quick, and so delicious! I made this for myself, Lana, my brother and my brother-in-law. Those boys are through and through meat-and-potatoes types and even they were impressed. The only real changes I made: I tossed in some garlic with the leeks, I added a bit of chicken stock when I added the wine and I used orecchiette because I think it’s fun 😉

How about these Oscars? I’m seriously pulling for Emma Stone and the rest of the gorgeous girls from The Help. Such a great movie (and I have a massive girl crush on Emma Stone but that’s a different post all together).

Now, if you’ll excuse me, there’s a piece of black cherry pie with my name on it (before you get too excited and ask for the recipe, Lana bought it at Fresh Market!)

Some of us took quite a lickin’ today!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment