barefoot and crazy

life is full of changes. this is simply my attempt to go with the flow.

So busy here…

The past few weeks have been so busy here but in a good way. I finally found time to fold all the clean laundry I’ve been letting pile up since we came home from the hospital. Yes, that was almost 8 weeks ago. Don’t judge me. Rae had her first (of many!) photo shoot. I’ve done some baking. We’re planning our annual open house. My husband made a surprise visit.

First things first: My sweet friend Victoria (from Victoria Lynne Photography) came down to visit us with her husband, Mark. Even though she was only here two days, she took time to take some gorgeous photos of our gorgeous girl. I had so much fun hanging out and relaxing with them, it was just great. Can’t wait to see them again!

If you knew half of the baking I’ve done, you’d know I haven’t started Weight Watchers yet. I made these little beauties… twice. One giant batch of Pioneer Woman’s cinnamon rolls. I have cake pops on my list of things to do (if my brother in law sees this, they’ll have to be moved higher on my list)

Mom & I are planning our Annual Holiday Open House. We get a few home party consultants together, invite the neighborhood (and then some), throw in some food and spending the day shopping (and selling!). I’ll be sharing my Scentsy and Mom will be selling preorder pies and goodies for the holidays. Thirty One will be here, Tastefully Simple, Gold Does Good, Pampered Chef and Tupperware. Each year we expand a bit and we already have people interested in setting up next year! We always have such a good time.

Andddd, the highlight of my post (at least I think so!):

My sweet husband came home for the night! He called Wednesday night & said “What’s for dinner?” We were so excited and I was so glad he got to spend some time with Rae (I know he was too). She’s changed so much since he left and grows so much every day, it really meant a lot to me that he didn’t have to wait another 2 weeks to see her. I just love his expression in this picture and her’s too. 🙂 That’s my heart and soul right there folks.

I promise to be a better blogger from now on too. I’m a little late jumping on this bandwagon but I’m going to keep up on my blog by participating in the “25 things I’m thankful for” trend. I’m a bit behind so I’ll do 4 today.

#1: that picture up there. I’d be lost without my husband. He’s my best friend, partner, an amazing daddy and the best husband I could have hoped for. He’s stuck by my side through so much over the last 5 years and I don’t think I’ll ever be able to thank him properly. I’m so glad to have such a great person to spend the rest of my life with and so thankful that even after 5 years, he still gives me butterflies and makes me giggle. I’m also thankful for that beautiful baby girl. For years, we weren’t even sure I’d be able to have babies without the help of fertility treatments. The fact that she’s here, healthy and beautiful just tickles me. I could spend entire days just staring at her in amazement. I’m the happiest I’ve ever been, even as the tears run down my cheeks right now. Thank God for them both.

#2: My amazing family. While we sometimes drive each other nuts being in the same house together, at the end of the day, we’re all having a good time and we love each other. I’m so glad to have everyone helping with Rae and grateful that she has so many people who love her around her every day.

#3: My handsome nephew. I love that boy to pieces and it’s eerie how much he looks like my brother. He’s too cute. I’m also thankful for his Momma. Even though they’re states away, she does such an amazing job keeping us all involved. We’re lucky she thinks of us and he’s lucky to have a Momma who cares so much.

#4: My friends. They may be (mostly) in New York and we may not talk as often as we ought to but I know if I needed something, they’d be right there. I hope they’re aware I’d do the same for them. I love that we can go months sometimes without talking but then pick right back up where we left off like it’s nothing. I’m such a lucky girl.

More tomorrow…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment